You are working out whether to insure the whole household privately, and the search you typed asked for an average cost to start from. There is no average here, but there is an indicative range: as a rough idea of where the market sits rather than a quote, one policy covering two adults in their thirties or forties and two children sits somewhere around £1,200 to £2,400 a year — £100 to £200 a month. That is the household it describes; a bigger household, or one with older parents, sits above it. What a family's cost does have is a part that is written down before anyone is quoted, and this page reads that part. For a figure priced on your own household rather than the market, an FCA-authorised broker can get one and put the questions below to the insurer on your behalf. Fill in the form on this page, which reaches one; it is free, it takes a few minutes, and since the broker is one firm rather than the whole market, going to an insurer yourself stays open too.

Four insurers' documents sit behind the page, Aviva, Bupa, Freedom Health Insurance and WPA, each read on 4 September 2026 and cited with its page number. Nearly every clause is quoted in full elsewhere on this site, so here each gets a sentence and a link to the page that carries the wording.

Why this page gives a range and not an average family health insurance cost

The first reason is the plain one: that range is general knowledge of the market, not measurement. We hold no premium data, so there is no average here, no table of family rates and no "from" price. Nothing below it is a price for cover, nor the price of treatment; what a hospital charges a family paying for its own care is a different number, kept apart on the hospital-access page. A family health insurance calculator does not get past that: its output is a premium we cannot check.

The second reason is particular to families. An average describes a crowd that is alike, and households are unlike one another twice over: as any two buyers are, in who is on the policy, their ages and the settings chosen, and then in size, so that one "family" figure would be averaging a couple with a household of six. On top of that sits a layer an individual's average never carries: for every amount a wording fixes, is it fixed per policy or per member? The same printed excess means one thing if the household pays it once a year and another if each person pays it. The average cost of private health insurance in the UK makes the case against averaging one person's premium; a family's carries this extra dimension too.

What a family health insurance quote is counting

Strip a family quote back and it is counting two kinds of thing. The first is the people: how many are on the policy, and what the insurer asks about each. No document we hold prices any of that, and we will not guess at the arithmetic: whether a child is priced like an adult, whether a third person adds what the second did, whether two adults on one policy can carry different settings. Ask those first. The second kind is the settings, and those are in the wording: the excess level, the out-patient option, the renewal date that starts both again, and a few smaller amounts attached to particular benefits. Nothing in these clauses turns on occupation; cover for teachers and cover for the self-employed read the same wordings for those households.

Counted per member: the excess and the combined limit

Of the four wordings behind this page, one says in terms that a figure is per person. Aviva's terms list six excess options, £100 at the low end and £5,000 at the high, and the sentence set among the figures attaches the excess to each member, every policy year (Healthier Solutions terms and conditions, April 2025 issue, page 11, read 4 September 2026; the row is quoted in full on the average-cost page). For a family on that wording the excess is not a household figure at all: each person on the policy carries their own, and holds it afresh each policy year, so three people claiming in the same year meet three excesses.

Aviva's worked examples, each quoted in full elsewhere, read differently once that is in view. A £1,000 bill meeting a £1,000 excess, with the member meeting the whole cost (same terms, page 12; on what cover costs a teacher), becomes on a family policy what happens to each person whose bill is the size of their own excess. The example where a year's treatment comes to £10,000 and the excess is £5,000, with the first £5,000 the member's and the balance Aviva's (same page; on what cover costs per year), is one member's year rather than the family's. And benefits are paid up to the amounts shown only once the excess has been paid (same page; on the average-cost page): that member's excess, on this wording, not another member's.

The combined out-patient limit is counted the same way. A set of Aviva's out-patient benefits draws on one pooled limit of either £500 or £1,000, and the sentence that says so gives the pool to each member, every policy year (same terms, page 7; quoted in full on the per-year page). The two stack for that member: Aviva's example puts a £200 excess under a benefit limited to £500, the member paying the first £200 and Aviva up to a further £500 for that benefit in the policy year (same terms, page 12; also on the per-year page). One thing about the limit row is better seen than described, because the extract we hold runs straight on from the end of the row before it:

"These can include ECGs, blood tests Radiotherapy/ chemotherapy In full"

— Aviva, Healthier Solutions terms and conditions (April 2025 issue), page 7, read 4 September 2026. These are the words that immediately precede the combined-limit sentence in our extract; that sentence is quoted on the per-year page.

That is table text, not prose: the tail of one benefit's description, then a row in which "In full" sits beside radiotherapy and chemotherapy. Which benefits share the pooled limit is not in the extract, so we cannot say whether a child's blood test and a parent's consultation draw on the same pool; nor have we read the radiotherapy row in full, so "In full" is what the fragment shows rather than a term we are offering. A family quote should say which benefits sit in a pool.

The clauses we hold from the other three do not use the phrase "each member". Bupa's guide works its excess through one member, Helen, who pays £100 of a £250 physiotherapy bill and no second excess for other treatment in the same policy year (Bupa By You policy guide, BINS 14718, 2024, page 10, read 4 September 2026; quoted in full on how much excess should you choose); whether a partner and children on her policy would carry excesses of their own is not in the extract.

WPA's product summary has "you" pay "your" excess up to the chosen level per policy year, or 25% of eligible claims up to a chosen level under Shared Responsibility (Complete Health IPID, November 2025, page 2, read 4 September 2026; quoted on the average-cost page), and on a policy with four people "you" does not say whether the level is reached once or four times. Freedom's guide has the excess come out of the first valid invoice and out of each one after it until it is used up, at which point the member settles that amount with the provider (Freedom Elite Policyholder's Guide to Cover, April 2025, page 31, read 4 September 2026; quoted on the how-much-excess page); it names neither a period nor a person. WPA's standard cap of £250 on specialist consultations as an out-patient, raised by an optional extra (same IPID, page 1; quoted on the average-cost page), says nothing about whether it is one £250 for the household.

None of that is a finding about those insurers; it is what one clause from each leaves open. Vitality's wording is not among the documents behind this page; what Aviva costs, what WPA costs and what Vitality costs are the insurer pages.

The question those clauses leave open is the same, per person or per policy, and it changes what any quote is worth. Ask it of a broker as well as of any insurer you approach direct; the form on this page reaches an FCA-authorised one, and asking costs nothing.

Counted per policy year: what a family pays again at renewal

Every period named in these clauses is the policy year, and for a household one renewal date restarts the count for every person on the policy. Aviva's terms say what happens when a course of treatment crosses that date: another excess applies, and in the worked example the member again pays the first £5,000 of treatment received in the new year, £5,000 being that example's excess rather than a figure of its own (Healthier Solutions terms, April 2025 issue, page 12; quoted in full on what cover costs per year). Put that beside "each member" and a family on this wording holds as many excess clocks as it has members, all resetting on the same date: a child's course of treatment that starts late in one year and runs into the next meets that child's excess twice, whatever the parents claimed.

Aviva's combined out-patient limit is written for every policy year too, so a new year brings each member a fresh pool. What a new year does to the premium is in no clause we hold; the renewal notice has a page of its own.

Counted per benefit: the smaller excesses, and the route that skips one

Not every excess is the headline one. Aviva's terms put a separate £50 excess on each of two benefits, routine dental treatment and the optical benefit (same terms, page 11; the row is quoted on the per-year page), and show it at work on a £220 claim for covered routine dental treatment, from which the £50 is deducted and £170 paid to the member (same page; quoted on the average-cost page). For a family two things are left unfixed: whether the £50 falls once a policy year or once a claim, and whether it is per member. Children's dental cover takes dental for children on its own.

The other way to count a benefit is to leave it out of the count. On Bupa's wording, where the policy has an excess or an out-patient allowance, a Direct Access phone or video assessment touches neither (Bupa By You policy guide, BINS 14718, 2024, page 7, read 4 September 2026; quoted in full on private health insurance benefit limits explained). For a household, a route that starts neither clock is worth knowing about; whether every member can use it is a question for Bupa, since the clause is written to "you".

What named insurers' wording fixes for a family, side by side

Every figure this page holds, sorted by how it is counted. "Not stated" means the clause we hold does not say, not that the insurer has no rule; each wording is quoted in full on the page linked where it is discussed above.

FigureInsurer and documentPer member?Per policy year?
Excess: six options, £100 to £5,000Aviva, Healthier Solutions terms, April 2025 issue, page 11Yes, in the clauseYes, in the clause
Combined out-patient limit, £500 or £1,000Aviva, same terms, page 7Yes, in the clauseYes, in the clause
A second excess when treatment crosses renewalAviva, same terms, page 12Inferred: follows the excessYes: that is the clause
Dental and optical excess, £50 each; £220 paid as £170Aviva, same terms, page 11Not statedNot stated
Reduced out-patient option removes two kinds of coverAviva, same terms, page 8Not statedNot applicable
£0 out-patient option, with an exception for some networksAviva, same terms, pages 24 and 8Not statedNot applicable
£100 excess on a £250 bill, once in the policy yearBupa, Bupa By You guide (BINS 14718), 2024, page 10One member in the exampleYes, in the example
Direct Access assessment outside the excess and the allowanceBupa, same guide, page 7Written to "you"Not applicable
Excess taken from invoices, then paid to the providerFreedom, Elite policyholder's guide, April 2025, page 31Not statedNot stated
Excess per policy year, or 25% co-payment to a chosen levelWPA, Complete Health IPID, November 2025, page 2Written to "you"Yes for the excess; not stated for the ceiling
£250 on specialist consultations, raisable by an optional extraWPA, same IPID, page 1Not statedNot stated

All read on 4 September 2026. One caution on every Aviva row: the issue we read is April 2025, and Aviva's site showed a March 2026 issue on 9 October 2026 that we have not checked, so treat each line as the wording we saw rather than as current. Take the table to the quote: for each row that is not settled, ask the insurer which column it belongs in, in writing, and ask a broker the same. The one the form on this page reaches is FCA-authorised, and the ask is brief.

Cheap family health insurance: which settings a low quote has moved, and who carries them

Cheap is a search term rather than a product, and this page cannot say what any setting does to a premium, because no clause we hold links a setting to a price. What the wording does say is where the settings a lower quote can move land on a family. A high excess lands, on Aviva's wording, on each member, so the worked example above, a £1,000 bill against a £1,000 excess with the member paying all of it, is an example for every person on the policy. WPA's Shared Responsibility is a different shape, 25% of each eligible claim up to a chosen level, with the extract not saying whether that level is reached once for the household or once for each person in it.

Then the out-patient option, where a lower setting changes what has been bought rather than how much. On Aviva's wording the reduced limit of £500 or £1,000 takes two kinds of treatment out of cover in every setting, in-patient and day-patient as well as out-patient: complications of pregnancy and childbirth, and dental surgery carried out in a hospital (same terms, page 8; quoted in full on the average-cost page, and read for a family planning another child on what family cover costs).

Below that sits the £0 option, on which Aviva pays for no out-patient treatment at all, the consultation and the diagnostic tests included, except through some of its networks, which the extract does not name (same terms, pages 24 and 8; the hospital-access page quotes both). On a family policy that is everyone's consultations gone, not one person's, unless it can be set member by member, which the extract does not say. WPA's £250 consultation cap, above, is what its summary carries as standard, so check whether a low quote has the optional extra that raises it. The useful version of cheap, for a household, is the lowest quote whose every setting you can place in the right column; the cheapest private health insurance in the UK takes the question for one person, and the types of family policy takes the other dials.

Questions families ask about the cost

What is family health insurance?

One private medical insurance policy with more than one person on it, a partner or children or both alongside the person who holds it. Whether each person is priced and underwritten on their own is a question no clause behind this page answers.

Which health insurance is good for a family?

We do not recommend a policy, and no page should: that is advice, and this site is not FCA-authorised. What can be compared, insurer by insurer, is whether the excess and each limit are per member or per policy, and whether a lower-priced option removes cover, as Aviva's reduced out-patient limit does on the wording we hold. Compare those before the premium, or the premiums are not like for like.

How much is family health insurance per month?

Indicatively, £100 to £200 a month for two adults and two children on one policy: the monthly form of the range at the top of this page, and a market indication rather than a quote. We hold nothing on how a premium is collected, and the figure for your own household comes from a quote. What cover costs per month takes the monthly framing.

How much is health insurance for a family of three on average?

No average for three, and no indicative figure either: the range at the top of this page describes two adults and two children, and a household of three is not that household. What three people on an Aviva policy do hold, on the wording we have, is three excesses and three combined out-patient limits, one each, every policy year. A family of two, five or six is the same question with a different count, and what cover costs a family of four works through the most-searched case.

Can I put a family member on my health insurance?

The wordings we hold are written as one policy with members on it, so adding a person is adding a member, and on Aviva's terms that member brings their own excess and their own combined limit. Who counts as family for this purpose, and until what age a child stays on, is set by each insurer's own wording, and we hold one such clause: a child age limit quoted on what family cover costs.

Does family health insurance cover a holiday abroad?

Nothing behind this page says: every clause here is about the excess and the out-patient limit on a UK policy, and none mentions treatment abroad. Treatment on holiday, or while living abroad, is a different question, taken up by international and expat cover and health insurance for travel.

The next step is a quote with the count shown. Fill in the form on this page; when the figure comes back, ask whether the excess and each limit in it are for every member or for the policy. The broker you reach is FCA-authorised, and there is nothing to pay for asking.